Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

In the argument, author concludes that adding bicycle lane would reduce rush-hour traffic in Blue highway. Author has represented various forms of premises to conclude main point. Author represents keen interests of resident’s people towards bicycle which will radically reduce highway traffics. He even illustrates previous year widening of highway accounts more severe traffic jams. Therefore, mentioned bicycle lane would only be best for maintaining traffics. Nevertheless, before the recommendation can be significantly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Primarily, Green Highway and Blue highway are comparable in what basis? In other word, can these highway prospects same consistency in traffic jams? Is it possible that Green Highway and Blue Highway not similar on the basis of location-perhaps Green highway may be located in capital city where population is high which may results worsening of traffic jams even more after widening of roads, whereas Blue Highway can be located in non-residential area where widening the lane may result some fruitful result. If either of these scenarios has possibility to occur, the conclusion may fall apart.

Secondly, Does keen interest in bicycling reflects habituate adaptability in routine work? In other word, will people prefer to use bicycle to travel their office or work by bicycle in today’s busy schedule? Is it possible people regarding their hobby to be their day-to-day activities-perhaps people may enjoy their personal vehicles to travel which may be far convenient and accessible in use. If either of these scenarios has possibility to occur, traffic would be more crowded and problem would be not solved as author conclude so. Furthermore, this will probably weaken the statement presented by author.

Thirdly, Does last year issue still exists today? However, road structure, policies keeps on changing how it can be possibly repeats same incidence in today’s date too. Perhaps road may have facilitated with convenient traffic rules; road structure may beneficially reduce traffics jams. Furthermore, population of certain resident may have migrates to other cities. If the above is true, then argument does not hit the correct stone.

In synopsis, the article, as it provides some evidences, is considerably flawed due to its unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide some strong evidences to prop argument and able to answer above questions then bike lane in the Blue Highway proposal could be beneficial to reduce traffic jams.