Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

Given memorandum argues about rescheduling the late-night news programs as it was in its former level. The news program has dedicated increased time to national news and decreased time to weather and local news. Most of the complaints were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. And the local businesses has cancelled their advertising contracts. The given premise is valid but incomplete and the assumption is unwarranted. Therefore the conclusion is doubtful.

They have increased the time to national news, then there must be some reason behind it. People do not randomly take decisions when its related to their business. The reason for changing the program schedule over the past year is not discussed in the given argument. The memorandum has mentioned nothing about the demand of national news. Will other group of viewers complain about the station's coverage of national news , if the time devoted to weather and local news is restored to its former level? No research has been done on this topic.

Local businessess have just canceled their advertising. But what about the national businesses? Do they have any contract for the late night national news program? The argument has not clarified if they have any other advertising revenues who may be cancelling the contract if the time devoted to nation news will be reduced.

Thus the given assertion may be correct but the information provided through this argument is deficent. Thus the assumption is unwarranted and the conclusion is doubtful.