"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

It seems pretty obvious that reducing time for weather and local news during night and devoting the same for only national news could cause a lot of complaints from the viewers and also loss of revenues. But there are several factors that needs to be considered before switching back to old strategy

We need to check how may complaints are there for the same reason. Are the complaints coming up from same group of people or not. It could be possible that there there are bunch of 10-20 people who are complaining again and again for the same reason while others are interested watching the national news and there's no complain from them.

Also we should know approximately how many viewers are covered in the respective station and how many of them watch these shows. For example if i say in X Y Z city , there 1000 people out of which only 50 people watch late night shows and hardly 10 -20 people are complaining regarding weather and local news, this shouldn't be a problem but on the other side if there lot of people may be 3-400, then it counts a lot.Also there are people that stick to their friends or family members, so even if one got a problem, the whole group start making a chaos.

Now, with respect to the cancellation of contracts of local business who advertise during late night programs, we should know the reason for the cancellation is it because of the complains or because of the fee being charged. May be there advertisements are not good enough or they have come up with new strategies.

We should also know the number of viewers who have unsubscribed our program, If the count is too low then it shouldn't affect the advertisements as people are still watching it. Also if there are other television stations who are offering them contracts at a low price then they will obviously cancel contracts.

Reviews, survey of the number of people watching these programs, rating could really help us in making our next move. There could be lot of people who prefer watching national news as local news are covered during our day life. People are much interested in news related national changes, policies etc which could help them to stay and survive this competing world.