The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Author asserts that the youth should be taught the sense of cooperation and not competition. I partially agree to this statement. In this era of modern age, youth forms the base of the country, or any organization. They are the fresh minds with innovative thinking, leadership skills. In this world, time don't stop for anyone. In last few decades, there has been many technological enhancements which has brought the world closer and more competitive. The more innovative you are, the more you lead the world. Thus cooperation only will not assist you to gain the true power.

Firstly, let us look at the swiftly moving mobile world. Every kid is glued with new generation mobile phones or tablets which along with communication gives you source of entertainment, photography and much more.There are numerous companies coming up with new technologies. If you don't compete, you don't stand a chance to stay in the market and you will be bankrupt in no time. As for example, Apple founder Steve jobs, has been coming up with new innovations and provides the highest level of quality and thus he is the leader in the mobile world and no one can beat him. On the other hand, he don't cooperate with other companies as the innovation will not remain unique thus losing the uniqueness in his own products.

But it is however completely wrong to say that only competition will assist in being the leader. As for example, in a developing country like India, where Narendra Modi is the new Prime Minister. Since India is lacking in technologies, money, etc, he is visiting the developed countries like America, Japan, Russia in-order to raise a hand of cooperation and take India to the world. He is looking for the long term goals for development of India by persuading these developed countries to invest their money in his country. This will not only bring technology and money in his own country but also this will raise number of job opportunities in India thus reducing un-employment. In true sense, he is the ultimate leader of India.

In gist, I would like to conclude that instilling a sense of cooperation only is not the best way to enhance a leadership skills in youth, but they should also be taught to be competitive. Future is uncertain, No one knows who will be treacherous in the near time if we only depend on cooperation. The world is changing, and so as the society. The only thing that is constant is TIME.