Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The passage claims that after changing the form of the late-night program by reducing the time dedicated to weather and local news, complaints were received from the customers and several local businesses canceled their advertising contracts. Thus, the television station should increasing the time dedicated to weather and local news to alleviate the conditions. The argument put forth by the manager of the television station is rife with unbacked assumptions and flaws. After considering these shortcomings, the conclusion that the manager makes does not have enough backing, thus making the argument weak and unconvincing.

First, the passage assumes that the complaints received from viewers concerning the station's coverage of weather and local news were that the amount of coverage done by the station. After assuming this, the manager suggests the solution to increase the amount of such type of news to decrease viewer complaints. However, this assumption is not backed by any information. If the manager had mentioned that the complaints were actually demands to increase the weather and local news coverage, this shortcoming could have been avoided. But as this information was not given in the passage, the complaints could have been regarding the abysmal quality of the local news and weather. The station could have hired a new reporter whose style of reporting was not liked by the viewers. Thus, if the station listened to the manager's request and increased the coverage of local news and weather, the station could lose customers instead of increasing the viewers.

Second, the author also assumes that the cancellation of advertising contracts was due to the change in the program. This statement does not have any evidence in the passage. This evidence could have been provided in the form of a excerpt from a letter one of the businesses sent the television station which said that they are cancelling their contract due to decrease in the coverage of local news. If such an evidence were provided, it could be justified that increasing the amount of local news and weather covered would lead to continuing of the advertising contracts and it would avoid any further loss of advertising revenues. However, as no such evidence was provided, the cancellation of the contracts could have been due to a different reason, that maybe a competitor station was showing advertisments at much lower rates. In such a case, increasing the amount of local news and weather covered during the late-night news would not have any effect on the advertising revenues, thus, refuting the conclusion.

Finally, the statement that increasing the time devoted to weather and local news would help attract more viewers is without any support. There is no evidence that the number of viewers has fallen due to decrease in time devoted to weather and local news. The passage does say that numerous complaints have been received, however, there is no indication that the number of viewers reduced. If the argument included a statement which said that some dissatisfied viewers stopped watching the station, increasing the time for covering weather and local news could have attracted these previous viewers back to their station. However, it is entirely possible that inspite of many complaints, no viewer stopped watching the station; thus, increasing the amount of coverage would not have any effect on the number of viewers.

Due to these fundamental flaws, the argument put forth by the business manager of the television company falls apart. Considering the plethora of assumptions made by the manager, the conclusion is unjustifiable.