As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious.

'Ignorance is bliss'. Most of us would have come across this saying at sometime or the other. Have we ever wondered the reason why this saying has succeeded in carving out a niche for itself in our world? The reason is that one cannot contest the issue that in the process of acquiring more knowledge, things do become more complex and mysterious. However, it is not necessary that things do not become more comprehensible in the bargain. One does begin to comprehend things easily over the time spent in acquiring knowledge. Nevertheless, the scales tilt in the favor of the latter whenever comprehension and mystery surrounding an object or phenomena are taken into account as a result of the ongoing process for acquiring knowledge.

History of mankind is testimony to the fact that most of the earlier civilizations worshipped the sun and the moon as they were the only celestial beings as per the astronomical knowledge prevalent in those times. Centuries have gone past, but mankind is still intrigued by the complexities and mysteries of the universe. Man has gained immense knowledge in the subject of astronomy, but our universe and the celestial bodies continue to intrigue and baffle humans. There is no limit to the knowledge that has been acquired on this subject over the last few centuries. However, each new discovery opens new doors to further speculations and theories. Along the way, certain other aspects have indeed become more comprehensible than they were before, but this understanding of the universe is nothing as compared to the dark mysteries which have not yet been unraveled by man. These mysteries and complexities have arisen from the knowledge that man has acquired after years of research and study.

After one has acquired knowledge it is imperative that the knowledge be applied for clearing the complexities surrounding a thing. However, in the process of solving the intricacies involved, it is possible that the solution to the complexities may involve another thing or a phenomenon which stands unexplained. This would stimulate man to look for solutions to the new mysteries that have thus been unraveled and the process continues probably at the cost of making something comprehensible.

Therefore, it would not be incorrect to say that things, by and large, become more complex and mysterious as one acquires knowledge. However, one cannot refute the fact that there are certain things and phenomena that do become comprehensible as a result of acquiring knowledge, but at times this comprehensibility may be insignificant compared to the complexities that have arisen as a result of the knowledge acquired.