A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The statement suggests that any person who has committed a crime, while he/she was aware that their action is not in accordance with the law, must be punished severely. The ways in which the punishment should be imparted are taking away of their civil rights and the right to benefit from their own work. While it can be agreed that the statement is sound to an extent, the measures suggested are, according to me, a bit too extreme.

Some of the crimes committed by people are done unknowingly, like not knowing, and thus, not following the speed limits. On the other hand, some people commit unlawful actions while being aware that those particular actions are not allowed by law. However, not all crimes done may be done with the intention of causing harm to the society or nation in general. People who commit such crimes may not be harmful for the society and thus, such a strong action of curtailment of civil rights should not be taken against them. For example, a person may choose not to follow traffic lights because he has a co-passenger who needs immediate medical attention. Even though the person is aware that running a red light is an crime, he may choose the life of his co-passenger over following of the traffic laws. In such a case, even though the crime has been done knowingly, giving a stern warning to the concerned person would be more appropriate than depriving him of his rights.

If this particular statement were to be implemented as a policy, it would not be fair to the general public. The government must carefully consider the importance it gives to upholding of the law vs the basic human rights. As this policy would be very stern, it could lead to a spread of terror throughout the country about the government and the law enforcement authorities; making the people fear those in power. Thus, the whole purpose of democracy would be defeated, which wants people to have a strong participation in the working of the country.

On the other hand, if a person is known to commit various heinous crimes, and the person is incorrigible, keeping that person away from the community would be a wise decision for the community. For example, a criminal known to be affiliated with terrorists, who has massacred a lot of people, would be better off in a private facility away from society. In such a case, it is not entirely wrong to deny him his civil rights like the right to vote; such a person can be made to work, under supervision, in a government project where he can positively contribute to the country.

Thus, while the claim comes off as too strict and extreme, there is some truth to it; implementing such a policy, under various restrictions to make it more appropriate and fair, would be beneficial.