The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The argument states that illegal immigrants affect the autonomy, the economy and the national identity of a country. It says that because these illegal immigrants possess a threat, they must be returned to their country of origin. However, the passage fails to discuss the measure of autonomy and makes unstated assumptions about the effect on the economy. Also, the conclusion made by the argument is too strong and is not supported by the points made in the passage.

First, the argument states that autonomy of any country is dependent on the strength of its borders; however, it is a generalization which might not be true for every country. The autonomy of a country can be defined using various parameters - the amount of imports, number of military deals and strength of the borders. While some countries may consider the strength of their borders as an important factor in determining their autonomy, it would be wrong to assume that every country thinks so. For example, European countries do not consider strengthening their boundaries to be an important issue - a person can travel between countries via a direct road without having to pass through any tough immigration checks. However, this does not necessarily mean that these countries are not autonomous. Thus, the author wrongly makes generalized assumptions about the relation between the strength of the boundary and the autonomy of the country.

Second, the argument assumes that having an unchecked number of illegal immigrants endangers its economy. Here, it is assumed that the country has population which is unemployed. If there is little or no unemployment in the country, illegal immigrants might help in increasing the production and contribute to a growth in the economy. These workers may be ready to work at the minimum wage rate which were rejected by the locals and cause an increase in the work done.

Finally, the conclusion is too strong and does not have enough supporting arguments from the passage. Even if illegal immigrants adversely affect a country in in terms of economy and national identity, there is no backing to the conclusion that every effort must be taken to return them to their respective countries. In fact, the process of searching for illegal immigrants and making arrangements for their return might be so time-consuming and expensive that this effect on the economy would be more than the damage done due to the presence of illegal immigrants.

Thus, the argument is rife with assumptions about the assessment of the strength of the boundaries, illegal immigrants' effect on the economy; it also presents a conclusion which is does not have backing from points made in the argument. Hence, as a whole, the author's claims fall apart and do not make a convincing argument.