The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

According to the claim, young people should be trained for leadership in their fields by inculcating the value of cooperation instead of competition. I agree with this view as instilling sense of cooperation has a lot of advantages over sense of competition. In a company or in society, a person needs to work in a team to complete the assigned task. It can also be said that the efforts of group can yield better results than a single person. Thus, inculcating a sense of cooperation in youth is extremely beneficial to prepare them for leadership.

First, people who work in government or in industry have to interact with a lot of people in order to carry out their role effectively. If a person is good at cooperating with others in order to complete some work, he/she can do well in their job. For example, a manager who works in a company has to coordinate with his boss about the deadlines. At the same time, he has to manage his subordinates in order to get a good estimate of when the work can be completed. If the manager is unable to coordinate well with his subordinates and get a good estimate of how long it will take to finish a particular task, he can set an impossible deadline and put a lot of pressure on his subordinates. At the same time, he will be admonished by his boss in his team fails to complete the task in the given time. This inconvenience could have been avoided if the manager had learnt to cooperate well with people. Thus, instilling a sense of cooperation can help avoid many problems which would be faced by lack of cooperation.

Second, a task can be better done by having a cooperative arrangement between many individuals than a single person. If many people contribute something to a task, the work which one of them has to do is lesser; thus, avoiding stress due to excess workload. On the other hand, if a person refuses to cooperate, he/she will have to finish that work all by himself/herself; thus leading to excess stress and unnecessary workloads. Had the person been good at cooperating with others, he could have shared some of his work with some of his colleagues in his company and avoided the unnecessary stress.

Finally, cooperation is an integral part of the society - one cannot do everything by himself/herself. By living in a society, a person is expected to coordinate with others in performing various day-to-day tasks. For example, a person may have to take a bus to work, requiring him to coordinate with the driver of the bus in terms of timings. If the bus starts at 11 o' clock in the morning, it is imperative that the man reaches there before 11. In this way, cooperating with other people in a society is unavoidable. It can said that competition leads to maximization of potential - a healthy competition will improve everybody's level. However, healthy competition is very difficult to achieve and more often than not, it takes a unhealthy turn and becomes detrimental to the performance of the individuals.

Hence, I think that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership or even life in general is by inculcating the values of cooperation into them from a young age.