A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The statement suggests that all students in a country should be made to study the same curriculum till they enter college, irrespective of the career choices these students would make in the future. This means that the only difference in education for a student wanting to major in say, arts, and a student wishing to pursue a career in engineering would be the education they would receive in the short four years of college. According to me, this recommendation would be detrimental to the overall quality of education of the students and thus, should not be implemented.

Nowadays, a spectrum of careers are open to the students; careers which require extremely different skills. For example, a journalist needs to be well-versed in language, needs presence of mind and an excellent general knowledge. Whereas, a physicist needs to be extremely good at mathematics, patient and diligent. While it cannot be said that a quality required for being a good journalist, presence of mind, would be harmful if present in a physicist, it surely is not used in the kind of work a physicist does. Thus, if a student wants to be a physicist, it would be more helpful for him/her to take up courses in mathematics, physics etc. rather than courses like public speaking, painting etc.

This customization of courses should be possible right from high-school; a student must be allowed to gain in-depth knowledge about the topics he/she would require later in their lives as a professional. Forbidding a student from doing so could adversely affect the depth of the student's knowledge, which will circumscribe his capacities in his/her career of choice. A student who wants to be an artist should not only have access to the basic foundation courses required, such as drawing, painting etc. but also have a choice in gaining further knowledge by learning about, say, renaissance paintings. This will ensure that the student's knowledge about his/her specialization will be more in-depth and gained throughout a period of time. Adopting the recommendation will engender a shallow understanding as all the specialized knowledge the students will gain would be in a comparitively short duration of four years in college. Thus, their performance as a professional would suffer due to their superficial knowledge.

On the other hand, some portion should be same for school students. Every student must have a basic idea about every possible career choice, because exposure to such diverse topics could engender interest in some students. For example, a student who had predilection for arts could get fascinated by mathematics or geography after learning about it in school. Students must be given a chance to choose what they would like to study in their life. Basic knowledge of many fundamental ideas should be given to students. For example, every student must know something about mathematics, as they will need it in future for taxes.