"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The recommendation that the author has asserted has too many assumptions and after examining all the facts we can give a final conclusion around it.

Firstly, in the passage there is no mention about why the TV channel has replaced late night weather and local news with national news. In context with the above passage without the reason one cannot take a finial decision. There is a saying, "Grass is always greener on the other side", this means that again after a year if the TV channel receives complaints from its audience to restore the late night national news, it will do it and again revise the decision that it took a year ago. This process will go on forever and the audience will also suffer. Hence, the first thing the TV channel should do is to

Secondly, there is no mention in the passage about the number of complaints received by the TV channel. It might have been possible that in general the complaints might have been decreased and out of this small set the majority are for restoring the weather and local news. Also, in the previous year there might have been more complaints to bring in national news and replace the ongoing tv show. Hence without the previous years data on cannot take any decision.

Thirdly, the relation between losing business and bringing in national news is obscure. There is not enough evidence or supporting reasons to conclude that by bringing in national news at night the company is losing business. There might have been other reasons too for losing business. For example, at the same time some other popular event is going on and therefore the local business might have been attracted there for a temporary time.

Hence without providing enough evidence or reasons the TV channel cannot conclude that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news will attract more viewers and further loss due to revenues will be prevented.