Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

The positive effects of the paleo diet, as presented by the writer, seem incredible, even too good to be true. The lack of significant evidence to support the writer's assumptions is also an indicator that the information provided must be considered under greater scrutiny.

First, the writer assumes the current form of the paleo diet is accurate to how the food ingested by early hominids. Although, anthropologists may be able to determine certain foods that were available to our ancestors, or even how the food was prepared. For example, the early humans may have eaten the bones from an animal, but uncooked. Furthermore, due to animal migration and general location, it would be a fallacy to assume all tribes of early man ate similar meals.

Additionally, the writer indicates two main nutrients: chondroitin, for nerve regeneration; and cartilage, for joint health. The writer's first assumption is that all animals intake and store these nutrients. Is chondroitin found in birds, fish, and mammals? All, notably, with many bones for stewing. For that matter, are the nutrients released in stew in such a way that our bodies can absorb the nutrients?

However, the writer makes a valid point that humans, as a species, should continue to share of the dietary benefits of our ancestors. Moreover, the writer's assumptions would be viable with concrete evidence; such as a study that chicken bones, when stewed, relesed chondroitin in a form that was both absorbed and helped people suffering from early-onset alzheimers.

The paleo diet should not be avoided; it appears to benefit people, as indicated by the writer, even if only as a placebo. However, the miracle workings of the diet should be taken with a grain of salt without concrete evidence to support the claims made in its favor.