The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The frustration that is derived from pedestrians walking along Centerville sidewalks is causing general havoc and is attributed to the use of cellphones. The arguements presented indicate a rise in crime and the endangerment of civilians due to distracted walkers. However, the audience should be wary of the writers arguement since the writer takes many liberties with the validity of the arguements.

First, the general arguement being made is that cellphones are a major cause of the 'sidewalk rage'. With no other possible rationale given, it is presented that removing cellphone use will prevent further sidewalk crime. However, it is never shown that the assaults or property damge is directly by cellphone users or a person encountering a passerby using a cellphone. For this reason, it is difficult to determine that cellphone use is the direct cause of the crimes.

Secondly, the writer professes the disruption of cellphone use by pointing out that users are more likely to bump into other pedestrians and objects on the sidewalk. This fallacy is presented without the consideration of other types of pedestrians that may be prone to bumping without cellphones: groups, sightseers, and people with vision-impairment. The writer continues that children are in the most danger due to their small size. However, the writer failed to consider that users look down at their cellphones, making users more likely to notice a child than if looking straight ahead.

There is some merit to the writers point that banning cell phone use will improve the quality of walking on a sidewalk. This arguement is backed up by the success of the ban made in Middletown and its' significant decrease in sidewalk crime. However, the audience cannot guarantee that the positive effect the ban had in Middletown will also affect their hometown. For this reason the arguement, as presented, requires further scrutiny.

Although a ban of cell phones may improve the quality of a trek along the sidewalks of Centerville, there is no way to know for sure if it will improve in such a way as presented by the writer. Further evidence is required to backup the claims made by the writer. For now, it is best for the city council to hold off any bans of cellphone use until further information is provided.