Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Many attributes and qualities make up an effective leader: George Washington is known for his adamant truth; Mahtma Ghandi is known for peace and wisdom; Even Adolph cannot be denied his incredible charisma. All three, and essentially every leader, garnered the respect of their peers. It is evident in areas outside of government; such as science, religion, or finance. The level of respect in a person by peers determines the leader's effectiveness.

A leader who is respected by his peers is valued by any who meet him or her. However, the leader's moral judgement may not always mix with people outside of the leader's followers. Genghis Khan is known for his war mongering and ruthless ways, conquering vast tracts of land and killing thousands, if not millions, of people. Khan would be seen to have poor moral judgement, especially in comparison to someone like Jesus Christ in whose name several crusades were levied, also killing thousands of people. Both are considered great leaders for the respect of their peers, but only one possibly for his moral judgement.

Moral judgement does play a strong role in the role of a leader. It historically indicates a leader that is loved by their people and develops a strong bond. However, it is not strong moral judgement that develops an unorthodox theory of relativity or guided the people of Israel through the desert for 40 years. It is the respect of the leaders that is effective. Moses known for his moral judgement; avoiding conflict with Ramses for as long as possible and protecting the slaves, that for a while, he was a tyrant of. But the people of Israel did not know who he was at first or his moral values, he came out of hiding as a stranger. No, they followed him out of sheer respect garnered by his step-brother.

It is easily apparent that regardless of area of expertise, knowledge, or, especially, moral judgement, it is the respect from peers that determines the effectiveness of a leader.