A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

There are complaints received with regards to the quality of the pet food that a company produces. There is a claim that the food that company produces is not responsible for this problem and rather makes a decision that no further investigation will be carried out. The author bases his reasoning on the ground that the chemical found in the food are the approved chemical for use in pet food. There is a gigantic assumption the author is making. This remedy is unlikely to be successful as there are various flaws and incomplete evidence in the author argument.

Firstly, the food that was recalled is in prodigious amount of 4 million. This was the result of the complaints that the company received, itself showing that there might be some malfunctioning happened while the production of food. Various sign of illness like vomiting, lethargy were reported by the consumer that purchased these product. Further the company tested the recalled food and comes to a conclusion that the chemicals involved in production of these food are suitable for the pet food. How the company can prove that these chemicals are suitable? There are no mentions of standard test approved by food authority of the country to back up this decision. Also, there might be the case that instrument used while testing the sample for recalled food where not adequate. The sample quantity would not be suffice in determining the accurate result. All these flaws are present in the argument that author seems to ignore and right away come to the conclusion.

In addition to this, the author readily assumes that the chemical that were approved for the use of pet food doesn't undergo any changes during there life span. What if there were change in the behavior of the chemicals that have led to several signs of illness that the consumer's pet is facing. The author fails to keep an account of this factor. Lastly, the author comes to conclusion that they have invested sufficient amount of resources to their investigation and don't require further investigation. There might be the case that the resources used would not be suffice to dealt with these problems for which author has provided no answer.

Though there are several issues with the author argument at present, with research and clarification, the argument can be improved significantly. For example, the author should have provided evidence for the chemical use of pet food. Should have mention the facts of using food in particular duration as food expires after a certain time period etc.

In a sum, as we can see from the above mentioned reasons and examples, the author's argument is acute to several reasoning and hence open to debate.