The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted

It is stated that the Pleasantville School Board should implement a program to undertake 40 hours of community service before one getting graduated. They have concluded it in order to make the young understand the value of service and charity. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all Does this 40 hour servie prior to graduation enables the students to inculcate the importance of service in their hearts? Perhaps they may just do it for the sake of graduation as a namesake and leave about that once the 40 hours is completed. In this case the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, Even if they knew the value of service, is it that they render it for their society exclusively? In other words do they serve only locally. Perhaps they might get shifted to other community due to transfers or to persue higher education. It was prematurely assumed that implementing a 40 hour program leads to provide assistance to worthy local charites and helps the teenagers understand the value of paying back to their community.

Thirdly, What if the they complete the 40 hour program before a month of getting graduated? This does not let the high school people know the value of community service. If they knew it few months before getting graduated they might migrate on purpose of job and leave the community. More over the graduate's age is different from High School childrens' age and this does not let the High School Students know the value of community service. In such case the argument stated does not hold strength.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarrented assumptions. If the author is able to answers the above three questions and provide more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation to implement a 40 hour program in the school prior to graduation.