A recent sales study indicated that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent over the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants that specialize in seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about eating healthily. Therefore, a new Bay City restaurant specializing in seafood will be quite popular and profitable.

In the above statement, the author asserts that since the major proportion of the families in Bay City are two-income families, with the nationwide concern for health, new Bay City restaurant's consumption of seafood will be popular and profitable. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the current condition in Bay City are will be permanent, not just a temporary trend. The author assumes that the cost for quarrying of the seafood will be constant over the years. However, it may not be the case. The sea animals could be endangered due to profound quarrying from the past, and now are hard to catch, which will raise the cost. For example, the restaurant could deliver their seafood from other cities, which subsumes delivery cost as well. Or, a governmental regulation could be invoked by limiting the quarry of the sea animals. In addition, the writer states that over the past 5 years, the consumption for the seafood in the restaurant has increased 30 percent. However, we cannot be sure whether it was a temporary trend or a permanent ambiance that will exist for years. There could have been a government regulator who initiated a seafood festival, or supported the seafood consumption aiming to rise up the seafood industry. However, that regulator could have resigned. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to whether the seafood consumption trend will be permanent or not is needed to support the claim and assert it.

Secondly, healthy food being sea food is not conclusively proven. The author gets the evidence from the nationwide survey that there is a nationwide concern for health and eating healthy is on the people's mind, which will lead to the rise of the sea food. However, the healthy food dos not mean directly consuming sea food solely. The Bay City residents could be sick of the seafood they have been consuming for their lives, and move onto other source of healthy food. The reason why there now is only one seafood restaurant is also needs to be validated. It could be because the residents predilection for the seafood have been removed. In addition, sea food could be even bad for the health due to the high sodium compared to other healthy foods. As such, more detailed data needs to be considered whether Bay City area regards healthy food as sea food and is willing to consume sea food for the future as well are needed to be warranted since the argument is largely based on it.

Lastly, the nationwide survey being adjustable to the Bay City area is not plausible without corroborating evidence. The nationwide survey insisted that the two-income families are apt to eat outside rather than inside. However, it may not be the case for the Bay City. Bay City could be a very small city inside a country that it's characteristics are hard to be represented in a nationwide survey. Although Bay City residents are aware of the consumption of healthy foods, they could acknowledge that home-cooked meals are way more healthier than eating outside. Then, the seafood restaurant will be suffering from loss in the near future. Therefore, it is necessary to consider evidence about whether the nationwide survey can be applied to the Bay City.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to whether the current trend in Bay City are will be permanent, the seafood is regarded healthy, the nationwide survey being applicable to the Bay City area are crucial in determining the validity of the claim.