Colleges and universities should require students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

The author contends that students enrolled in colleges and universities ought to spend at least a semester at a different country. However, the following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the author's statement.

Admittingly, there exist benefits of studying abroad. By taking classes at a different nation, a student is able to communicate with students with various nationalities. This is a way for students to widen their perspective effectively by actually having to talk with them and not solely just a casual talk that one can have from traveling, but even the serious kind of conversation about one's major can be done. Therefore, it can widen one's knowledge spectrum but also can strengthen their ability to fraternalize with the first-met people easily. Moreover, these skills are important since the students in universities are the one to lead the country in the future. By acknowledging the differences among different nation, the terrorism act, which harassment toward different races is done recklessly, could be decreased in the future.

However, we have to keep in mind that students are the one who is impressionable easily. When a student goes to another country, experience and beholds first-seen activities, one has a chance and willing to experience those acts. The reason why this is nefarious is because there should be a socially admitted ambiance of why the first seen act is not allowed and suited in one's country. For example, in Korea, many students have a chance to go to the States for a study abroad program. However, once they go to the States where drugs are more easy to get, even with some of the states allowing drug consumption, they have a chance to do drugs. Since the addictive source of the drugs remain in one's body, one will be willing to consume one even when they come to Korea where it is prohibited harshly. In addition, students regard studying abroad mostly as a chance to relax one self and travel different country. It is a waste of the country's intelligent students. If they did not go abroad and stayed in one's country, they could have prepared oneself more to get into a government sector or a conglomerate and could strengthen the nation power.

Moreover, our degree of technology improves exponentially daily. Up until now, our communication technology allowed students to communicate with different country's students immediately and to a profound number of other students and even the most prestigious professor in one's major simultaneously through Internet and mobile phones. This is not done through just studying abroad. This allows students to share ideas with more various nationality of students instantly that could have not been met through studying abroad programs.

In summary, I believe that colleges and universities do not have to make student to spend a semester abroad for a requirement in order to graduate. There definitely is a pro for this but the cons outweighs the positive sides for studying abroad.