2. The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that one's level of stimulation is determined by the birth order. It may be true in some sense, however, there are some flaws to validate the assertion. The assumptions made by the author to support the claim should be backed up by some additional evidence.

First, the author makes a hasty generalization when providing evidence for his claim. The author provides information to support his assertion by using monkeys and humans. There is a flaw in this part that the author assumes that what monkeys and humans provide as a result of the stimulation could be taken into account in same sense. Also, in the process of letting monkeys and humans face the stimulation, monkeys encounter an unfamiliar monkey and humans face their parent. Thus, the author assumes that an unfamiliar monkey and a parent is of the same degree of a stranger. In addition, the writer consider the first-time mother and firstborn infant monkeys as of the same kind to conduct a stimulation. However, a mother and an infant has had totally different years of experience, a sheer different living condition, that could lead to a faulty conclusion.

Second, the author assumes that the 18 monkeys in the experiment are the right source to be utilized to make a conclusion. However, 18 monkeys are not a reliable material to be conducted in the test. The number 18 is not a big enough number to make a generalization over the monkeys. In addition, the 18 monkeys could share a similar characteristics as opposed to the other general monkeys. Then, the result could be based on an eccentric kind of monkeys. Also, the number of humans in the test is not mentioned. Therefore, we do not know whether the conclusion made based on humans is a reliable source.

Lastly, the author makes an extreme conclusion. The writer of the argument assumes that "relatively high" means a sheer difference. For example, in the argument, the author states that the relatively high levels of cortisol is a useful evidence to be used to make a conclusion. However, we are not informed how much high. It could be a very little bit of a higher degree that is not noticeable by the actual action exposed. Furthermore, the extreme conclusion is made which can be seen through the author choosing only the order of birth to be the cause for the increase of the activity levels. There could have been other conditions that would also raise the level of activeness.

Therefore, in order to substantiate that the birth order stimulates the level of activeness, the author should provide further evidence. The reason why monkeys and humans are treated the same to make a consistent conclusion and whether the 18 monkeys are a good representative of monkeys as a whole should be mentioned. In addition, the author could make a more firm conclusion by providing specific information on how high the cortisol becomes and checking whether there are any other sources that could have both affected the stimulation level for monkeys and human besides the birth order.