Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

In the above statement, the author contends that a judgment of a particular work is critical and meaningful only if the statement made is from an expert in that field. However, the following essay will contend that it is plausible to disagree with the author's claim.

Admittedly, an expert in that field would have accrued substantial amount of knowledge compared to the laymen. From the experience expert has accrued, he or she would be more exact based on objective information one learned. For example, we cite an expert's literature or presentation when our statement needs to be validated with someone who is acknowledged and influential in the field in order to convince the audience. If we support our statement supported by a professor at Harvard University,compared to a neighbor supporting the claim, it would have more of a credence. Therefore, it could be asserted that a judgment by an expert is only critical in that field.

However, an expert does not always make the right choice or give the right information. If only an expert's judgment were espoused by the society we live in, our society would be lopsided. The expert, although who is generally told to be making an impartial choice, has his or her value that is cherished by oneself. The choices the expert makes would be based on these values. Therefore, whether the expert aims it or not, the judgment is likely to be partially lopsided. It is where many people's values to be espoused in order to make the judgment impartial and to be meaningful to the community.

In addition, if an expert is the only one to trust, our world should not be full of inquiries. If the expert were to make all choices right, resolving all the problems the society heckles, our community would be foundered and the hierarchy would arise in the societal echelon. The expert would be ruling the laymen. However, in our daily lives, we don't see laymen, or general people, subduing to the expert. Every member of a particular field of the community is in part of a judgment of a particular field of work. The expert might be stuck in his own imagination, that his mind is too obdurate to correct one's fallacy. In this particular situation, it is where variegated ideas should be propounded for a better judgment to be made. Thus, we see many expert, politicians, in a field of politics, who garner citizen's recommendation in order to make a better quality of determination. Therefore, harmonization of a community member is required when making a judgment.

In summary, I believe that it is everyone's effort should be subsumed when an expert is making a judgment; to be impartial from one's own values, and to be harmonized with all the members of the community in a particular field. Therefore, the author's statement cannot be fully acknowledged.