It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

agree- influenced by the social groups as we get older and older

disagree- innate characteristics do not change

disagree- some do not have social groups

Some may say that we are defined by the social group that we are a member of. However, the following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the author's statement.

Admittedly, we spend substantial time during our day outside of home as we get older and older. Going on from high school to college, there are few students who commute and most students do not and live on campus. After college, when he or she gets an occupation, they live near their company. As can be seen from our daily lives, we can easily acknowledge the fact that we spend less time in home, with family and more time with the groups of people that you are a member of in our society, such as friends in school or co-workers at work. Therefore, it could be said that we define ourselves as a member of a certain social group that you join.

However, although we spend our time more outside, our innate characteristics that we are born with does not change. If a person is innately shy, she could pretend to be outgoing in front of people and act as if one is surely a member of the group. However, when asked privately away from other's attention, one would answer that he or she is a shy person. We live near the innate traits that we are born with and behave the periphery of it when we become a member of a social group, not deviating far away from the traits that we are born with.

In addition, there could be people who do not have a sincere social group. A social group, which is defined as a group of people that people selectively meet for a certain purpose in this essay, cannot be formed if one does not advertently seek for a group to join or just stay inside home. There are people who do not wish to join a group and rather stay comfortable in their own private area, at home. Or, although one is a member, since he or she does not have affinity towards it, that person would not define themselves as a member of a group that one does not wish to belong to. He or she will be defining oneself as a person that they really behave when one is alone.

Therefore, I believe that one is not primarily defined as a member of a social group. Our innate traits are always with us for the rest of outlives and one could pretend to not follow the innate traits and act the periphery of the traits in order to behave naturally. However, one would not define hisself or herself as the way they are seen in the group. In addition, it depends on whether he or she wishes to stay and belong to a social group or not.