147. The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizen.

Many would say that country's leaders ability is shown through the citizen's well-being of that country. However, the following essay will argue that it is plausible to disagree with the people's statement.

Admittingly, the country's leaders are the people who solve the citizen's wanting when living. Citizens entails grudge when their living standard decreases, and country's leaders are chosen to solve those kinds of problems. The leaders are the representative of the citizen. Therefore, the more the country's leaders care for their citizen and listen to what they are in deficit of, the happier the citizens feel about their normal days. For example, there is a Seoul mayor, Wonsoon park. He actively gathers citizen's recommendation for what is needed for Seoul. Thus, every weekend, he posts what he has fixed and initiated to fix over the week on the Internet. This was a sensation in Korea because before him, citizens were ambiguous about the politician's work. We did not know what is being solved in our lives. However, now we can see what is being fixed and what is getting better in our daily lives, which increases our well-being. Therefore, we could say that the leader's ability is shown through the citizen's well-being.

However, we should keep in mind that what politicians do, does not come into action immediately. In other words, politicians' objectives are to be concluded in a long-term. Politicians aim to compromise variegated citizen's opinions into one to implement a legislation or a rule in the society. However, it takes a while to confluence the citizen's various ideas into one because it takes a lot of time to make people change their recalcitrant mind over one event. There will be demos on different places by the citizens that adhere to their opinion. So, although the politician have suggested a congenial idea, we cannot see the effect by looking at the citizen's well-being at that time. Therefore, we do not know to whom to commend the increased well-being. It could have been thanks to the previous leader or the one before that leader.

Moreover, as is often the case, the well-being of citizens is often dissipated when a leader tries to initiate a substantive action. It will vacilliate the society. For example, there is Martin Luther King who was a leader in the past, who aimed for a equivalent society between the black and the white. At that time, there were massacre in the country, and it was a disaster in the States. However, nowadays, we thank Martin Luther King for our less discrimination between the races which massively increased our well-being in the world. Therefore, we cannot choose the citizen's well-being to appraise the leader.

In sum, I believe that leader's ability should not be decided upon the citizen's well-being. The reason for this is that, normally, politics should be seen in the long-run game, and during a leader's regime who now is appreciated, the citizen's well-being at that time could even decrease for struggling between the different parties. Moreover, since the effectiveness is to be seen later in the future, we do not know to whom to thank the increased well-being of the current lives.