Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.,

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above statement, the author asserts that the implementation of honor code system will diminish the number of cheating among all college and universities. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions which cannot be taken for granted. Thus, the argument remains largely unconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that since the number of students who cheat decreased, the honor code system is effectively working. However, this may not be the case. Although the author gives a numerical data of the number decreasing, the number of students enrolled in Groveton college could have actually decreased. Therefore, the ratio of students who cheat may have stayed the same or even increased, if worse. In addition, the number that the writer propounds is a data from 5 years ago and the current one. The number surely decreased but we do not know whether the number has been decreasing. The number could have surged during the 5 years. Therefore, further evidence pertaining to the number of cheating is needed to support the claim and assess it.

Secondly, what the students answered from the survey is not conclusively proven to justify the honor code being efficient. The students, as the author says, said that the honor code system will work better than the previous system where teachers were the people to expose the cheating. However, we do not know whether students answered this way aiming for the less number of cheating. They could have replied this way in order to cheat easier. As such, more detailed evidence needs to be considered whether the students really aim for less cheating among them is warranted since the argument is largely based on it.

Lastly, the author assumes that since the honor code system in Groveton college worked well, it will be also in other colleges and universities as well. However, there is no supporting evidence to claim this way. Groveton college students could be generally the one who easily follow the rules whereas all other college students seek for other ways to cheat when honor code system is initiated. In addition, the Groveton college students' number of cheating could have decreased not only with the honor code system, but also with other strict penalties if a student cheats. Therefore, if other colleges only accepts the honor code system, they will not be able to predict the similar results as the Groveton college. Therefore, it is necessary to consider evidence about whether the Groveton college had only honor code system regarding cheating and whether other college student's characteristics are similar to that of Groveton.

In sum, the author's claim is not very well supported as it stands in its current form. Further evidence pertaining to the the number of cheating, whether students answered from a genuine intention, and the situation comparing the Groveton and the others is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.