A recent study rating 300 male and female advertizing executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that businesses should hire those people who need less than six-hour sleep per night in order to gain a higher profit and revenue. However, the premise upon which he puts his claim is fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that the research has been done by 300 male and female according to their average sleep. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if 300 people are enough to reach an accurate result. One point that should be considered is that the recent study could not be accurate and reliable owing to the fact that the author does not provide any information or statistic about the research. Indeed, people in all around the globe have different hallmarks and sleeping habit is not an exception. In fact, 300 people could not be enough to prove the idea.

The author also asserts that there is a correlation between the amount of sleep and success of a firm. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that success of Companies depends on various factors like the need of costumers, inflation, economic situation and so forth. So, the success of a firm could not only rely on the amount of sleep. Alongside that, what if workers or employees need a substantial amount of time for sleep in order to work properly?

Finally, as set forth by the author according to the recent study, those executive who needs less than 6-hour sleep are more able to reach a higher profit and accumulate a hoard of money. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if less than 6-hour sleep could guarantee the profitability of firms. One point that should not go unnoticed is that there is no relevance between 6-hour sleep and profitable situation. Indeed, a company will be able to make a revenue through selling its productions. Or what if those who sleep less than hours confront insomnia in the long run? Moreover, the success of a company largely dependent on the ability of executives owing to the fact that there are people who sleep more than 6 hours but they are more successful than people with less than 6 hours.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.