A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

The author argues that residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future after more companies add salicylates as a food additive based on the twenty-year report. However, several questions need to be answered to evaluate the claim.

The author argues that salicylates is the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. However, whether the chemical susbstances within the same chemical family have the same effect from the viewpoint of medicine. For example, alcohol bought by the public and that used by industry are in the same chemical family. However, alcohol used by the industry can't be drunk by humans because it will transform into toxic substances under the influence of the certain enzyme in our body and the other is safe to drink because of its relatively steady chemical property. Because the chemical similarity of two substances is based on their chemical structures instead of their influences on human bodies, it is dubious that salicylates can have the same impact on the suppression of headaches as aspirin does.

The report suggests that the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and the decline in the average number of headaches. However, whether the participants have adopted other diets and started to exercise within these twenty years. The correlation doesn't guarantee the causation. Especially the experiment is conducted for a long period, the participants may start to focus on their diets, eating healthier, and start to exercise, which can contribute to the suppression of headaches.

Given that the correlation is substantiated as the causation between these two observations, whether the effect of salicylates reaches its potential to influence the headaches. Generally speaking, the influence of a certain stimulus will be bounded because it will contribute to the unreasonable fact without limitation. For example, after adding nutrient to the cluster of bacteria, the number will increase exponentially. However, when the total number of bacteria reaches the maximum capacity, the nutrient will no longer stimulate the growth of bacteria and other environmental and peer pressure will grow the suppress its growth at the meantime. As a result, fewer headaches may not be observed when more companies start to add salicylates into their products if the influence has reached to the upper bound.

The author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen the claim.