The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them not by their contemporaries.

To qualify the arbitrary statement, I believe that whether the impact is instantaneously will affect the judgments of the public futher influence the evaluation of the greatness of individuals.

As the technology rapidly progresses, smartphones, the Internet and artificial intelligence have become the inalienable products in modern society and behaviors of people have been influenced without consciousness. Thus, the greatness of the inventor and the scientists of above revolutionary technology are globally-recognized by contemporaries. For example, most of the electronic devices, such as auto-pilot cars, smarphones, laptops, and wearable devices, are drived and controlled by tiny but critical components called integrated circuits. Compared to understandable discrete circuits, which are composed by eye-scale components, such as battery, resistors, capacitors and inductors, intergrated circuits adopt micrometer-scale transistors, which are made of semiconductors, to fullfill functionalities. It's the technology that enabled the size of transistors can be limited in micrometer and futher limit the size of our electronic devices. The prevalence of such devices are the reflection of greatness of the inventors.

Besides, the contributions to the public health are prominent as well, which not only save millions of people who have suffered from pandemic and endemic, but prevent the rest of the world from being pagued by deadly diseases. For example, Taiwan was regarded as the most vulnerable country affected by the pandemic, COVID-19, at the begining of the outbreak; however, led by the commander of public health expert, the government took the very early stage precautions on limits on surgical facial masks and travel bans to prevent the pandemic from spreading in Taiwan. Until now, the total number of infections of the whole world are more than three hundred thousands, which is still on the exponential rise, but that of Taiwan is merely less than two hundred with no clues that we are under the threat of community infections. Most of Taiwanese are grateful to the commander and the medicine staff who stood in the front line to combat the deadly virus, and even European and the American reporters have appraised the performance of the virus control.

To conclude, I believe the greatness of individuals will be recognized when their impacts has deeply influenced the whole society.