It's primary through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves

As scholars known for individual development theories say, humans start to define themselves through the interaction with social groups that shape their identifications without awareness. Indeed, I agree with the statement that the establishment of self-identification in the early stage is shaped by social groups, but I believe that people are able to reversely influence social groups holding incorrect concepts with their own belief after they can think critically and independently.

When we were bored, the first social group we met with is our family, which carries the sense of the value of our parents and grandparents, who generally are under the influence of the mainstream thoughts of the society. Children are often taught to abide by some rules and beliefs that their parents hold true. For example, parents in Asia will teach their children that they have to study hard, primarily focusing on the school curriculum, go to a distinguished college, and work in the cosmopolitan companies. The only standard of success they hold true seems to be the grades their children get on exams and titles. Under the very early-stage influence from their parents, children in Asia tend to compete with each other without the concept that cooperation is a key to the achievements of great things and it's impossible to compete with foreigners who tend to team up in the future world. Compared to the traditional thoughts of western countries, the identification of children in Asia is entirely different from that of children in western countries.

As we grow up, a time we spend on family interaction decreases, we would gradually focus on the interaction with peers, namely adolescence. In this phase of lives, we are prone to be influenced by our friends when making decisions. For example, students at National Taiwan University tend to challenge themselves through activities, such as TED, exchange students, internships, commercial contests, and hackathons. Under the impacts from their peers, they will find out the world is full of opportunities and something innovative and interesting that they didn't have chances to do and even didn't hear of.

Nevertheless, when we become adults, we often realize that what we hold true before isn't totally correct under our rationale and even contradicts morality. Most people will choose to accept the truth that the world is twisted and further change the identification of themselves in order to make ends meet. But some audacious people holding strong beliefs want to change the world and the social group they live in in the search of a better world.

To conclude, people start to identify themselves from social groups in the early stages, and they may have the ability to start to shape the social groups that impacted they before when they can think critically and independently.