In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago

None of evidence provided by the author is strong enough to prove that Prunty City should forgo the policy of lowering the speed limits and adopt the road improvement project as Bulter City did. The author must explain the following unsubstatiated assumptions to strenghten the claim.

The author argues that lowering the speed limits in Prunty City is ineffective because the number of accidents hasn't decreased and many drivers are exceeding the speed limits. However, **it seems to assumed that the law is correct enforced and the drivers are universally educated with new regulations.** The highway police in Prunty City may be inadvertent to enforce the new regluation because there has existed a distrust between the legislature and the administrative sector in Prunty City for a long time. Maybe the regulation was just announced last year, most citizens aren't notice the change of the speed limits. Only novice drives who got their licenes last year know the change because they had to scrutinize the traffic regulations to pass the driving exam. The rest of drivers who may used to the speed limits for more than thirty years. The author should provide the information about how hard the city government educated their citizens last year. In fact, the consquence of lowering the speed limits may take effect after a few years.

The author mentions that Prunty City should take the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County did. However, **it seems to assume that the conditions of both cities before the improvements are comparable.** What if the territory of Prunty City doesn't allow to broaden the lane widths? What if the quality of the highway in Prunty City has been the best compared with other cities, even better thant that of Bulter County? What if the Prunty City has already established a row of lights along both sides of the highyway without discontinuity? Maybe the reason lying under the accidents resides in the driving habits of the residents in Prunty City instead of the quality of the hightway and related hardware.

The author argues that the number of car accidents in Butler County was decreased by 25% without lowering the speed limit after the road improvement project. However, **it seems to assume that the road improvement project directly accounts for the accidents without other possible factors**. Maybe the residents in Bulter County gradually realize their driving habits are quite dangerous, such as randomly switching between two lanes, after traveling to other cities. Even though the significant decrease is entirely attributed to the road improvement project, it may result from the fact that the road conditions are quite poor and dangerous that made the improvement critical. Maybe the number of accidents will further decrease significantly after the government lowers the speed limits.

To strenghthen the claim, the author must explain what he or she took for granted.