A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument claims that there will be fewer headaches in the future among the residents of Mentia based on the prediction of few health experts. There are evidence presented to support this claim including a twenty-year study on headaches and a proposed increase in the use of salicylates by food processing companies. However, upon careful inspection, we can observe that these evidence provides little credible support to the argument's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated and flawed.

First of all, the author readily assumes that many companies plan to use salicylates as a flavor additive for food, but he does not provide strong evidence to support this assumption. For instance, salicylates could be just one of the available flavor additive option in the market. Therefore, it can be considered as a strong prediction only if it provides strong evidence such as the present demand and supply of salicylates as a wide used flavor additive.

Furthermore, the argument claims that the twenty-year study found a correlation between the increase in commercial use of salicylates and decline in average number of headaches reported by study participants. However, this is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not reveal precise details of how these two events are correlated. For example, if thestudy participants had never consumed the products containing salicylates, yet their number of headaches reduces, then the two events are totally uncorrelated. Therefore, the argument must provide proper evidence to support this correlation to be considered as valid.

Finally, the author notes that salicylates are being used by food processing companies as preservatives. However, there is no statistics that support the fact that most of the residents consumed the food containing salicylate. It is also unclear that residents of Mentia preferred the foods that contain salicylates. The argument must answer these questions to better understand the problem at hand.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To improve the credibility of the argument, the author must provide strong evidence, perhaps the supply and demand of salicylates and the residents' acceptance of it as a cure for headache to verify the conclusion.