A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

To decide if the assumption is reasonable, the questions that need be considered are ones such as: can it be proven that the salicylates are the reason for the decline in headaches? Will the residents develop a resistance to the salicylates? What are the other side effects of the salicylates? Is the study reliable? Does it look at a variety of prospects?

Salicylates are assumed to be the reason for the reduction of headaches in Mentia. The passage does not mention that other factors have been considered to prove that the salicylates are the cause. It is a possibility that other factors in the food or in the environment have improved over the last twenty years and therefore decreased the average number of headaches. Another factor to be considered is that the people may have developed better dietary habits, leading to fewer headaches. If there were no other factors that could skew the results, then it is a reliable prediction.

If the salicylates are the reason for the decrease in headaches, what is the limit at which they can be consumed? When people constantly consume a certain amount of a substance, they eventually develop an immunity, or resistance, to the substance. If they become resistive to the salicylates, the prediction would be incorrect, and the people may experience the same number of headaches or more in the future. They may consume increased amounts when this happens which could lead them to become addicted to the salicylates.

Other side effects were not discussed in the prompt. Most “good” things tend to have other possible “bad” outcomes. If this pain reliever is going to inhibit the immune system, destroy their stomach lining, hinder the liver or kidney function, or any other side effect that is negative, then it should be considered in the prediction. The decrease in headaches may be beneficial, but are the other side effects harmful enough that the substance is overall bad for the body?

In conclusion, the prediction and reasoning are reliable in a circumstance where no other factors were involved that would decrease the number of headaches, the body cannot develop a resistance, and lastly, no negative side effects can occur.