In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most significant contribution is made by someone who is knowledgeable about the history of the field and who is not creatively held back by the history. Although, it is possible for a fresh minded person to make a contribution in a field, opposing the statement.

A new person coming into a field would have an encouraging mindset that they can give new ideas. Being new to the field, they can offer different perspectives. Moreover, a person without knowledge of the history would be able to offer a positive attitude because they have not been infected by the negative events that have occurred in the field and that have held others back. On the other hand, a person without the knowledge of the history would likely make similar mistakes and may not make as much progress as one who knows what not to do.

In illustration, a new scientist without knowledge of what experiments have already been performed would possibly end up trying the same experiments that end up failing. In which case, a person knowledgeable of the successes and failures would be able to guide the new scientist to do something different that may lead to another success, instead of wasting time on experiments that have already been failed.

To sum it up, a person with experience and knowledge is best paired with an inexperienced and fresh-minded person.