Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree with the statement that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. The creativity, happiness, and success of students can be affected by the restrictions of formal education.

Formal education has the tendency to subtract the availability for students to be creative and think for themselves. In my experience, many classes are repeated throughout the many years of one’s educational career. It is necessary for people to know math, sciences, and English; but it is more important for students to be able to learn new material than to relearn the same things in more depth.

In formal education, the students are not involved as much as they should be. Getting them involved in what is being taught helps them to be able to form problem solving skills and creativity skills. Another way to break from formal education and improve involvement would be allowing the students to have a choice in which classes they are able to take.

Electives are offered for some students. This attempts to balance out the restraints of formal education. If they are getting the educational necessities, the student can decide which extra classes they take to make their education worth more to them. When they can have a choice in their education, they are more likely to succeed and be happy.

In conclusion, formal education is hindering the creativity of student’s minds and they need to be able to make their own decisions.