"Several recent surveys indicate that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy and

manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners,

that are almost twice as energy-efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better

home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home

heating. Therefore, we anticipate that the total demand for electricity in our area will not

increase, and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation

for the past 20 years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants should

not be necessary."

The argument that a new electric generating plant is unnecessary is full of detrimental assumptions. For an argument to be valid, the assumptions need to be in probable and reliable circumstances. Unfortunately, the department did not make probable assumptions.

To begin with, the department assumes that the samples for the surveys are reliable. There is no evidence that states this. The argument does not state if the survey was performed on a proper sample of people. The assumption is that the surveys were inclusive of all community members. If the surveys were performed on the wealthier people in the community, who can afford to buy these new technologies, then of course they would be able to conserve energy. On the other hand, the people who have less wealth cannot afford to buy the new energy-conserving technology. Depending on the people of the community, they may not be able to decrease the amount of energy used.

A stated assumption is that the new appliances, home insulation, and passive solar heating are readily available. Although it is available to many, not everyone can afford it or will purchase it, which leads to another assumption that everyone is enthusiastic about making changes to conserve energy. The surveys say that the homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy, but that could be based on a select few.

An unstated assumption made is that the community will not grow in its population. If no new people moved into the community, the three generators would be enough to supply energy to the existing population. Yet, if the population grows, the department may need a fourth generator built to be able to meet the electricity needs of the new community members. No growth in population is unlikely, therefore this assumption is unwarranted.

In conclusion, the assumption that the total demand in electricity will not increase is unwarranted. The circumstances are unlikely with the assumptions that everyone can afford new appliances, wants to conserve energy, and that the population will not increase.