The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With today’s technology, everything comes with easy access. From cars, to microwaves, to the internet, we can get what we want almost immediately. Instant gratification has developed into a lack of effort for us humans to get what we want. On the other hand, we have more time on our hands to make progress in other areas that need it.

To concur with the statement, we have become totally dependent on the technologies that make life less time consuming. Our dependency on the internet, microwaves, cars, and so on, have kept us from being able to do things on our own. In illustration, the internet is a way of quick and easy communication, we have developed a fear or disability to be able to have true conversations with people face-to-face, or even leave a voicemail on the phone. We have gotten into the habit of texting or emailing when there is something that needs to be discussed. On the contrary, texting and emailing is more time conserving than physically going to the person to talk to them, leading to the next point.

In disagreement with the statement, the luxuries and conveniences of today save people time and make them more independent. For example, many years ago, women were expected to spend their entire day homeschooling the kids and slaving in the kitchen to prepare meals. Microwaves have cut down on time needed for preparing a meal, cars make it easier to get the children to a school, and these time saving things make it more possible for women to further their education and have careers that make them more independent and more respected in society. Women are no longer expected to be housewives, but they now can better themselves and earn respect in society as they become doctors, lawyers, or whatever they desire to be.

To conclude, today’s technology gives the luxury and convenience of less wasted time and gives people the potential to be independent and successful. With the previous examples, the statement does not strongly hold true and my position is shaped by the time saving aspect that allows people to improve and respect themselves.