A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that salicylates is the reason for steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by the residents of Mentia as per the twenty-year study's correlation between the two, rendering its main conclusion, that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification for statistical data of the survey. This leaves a lot of space for doubt. It doesn't mention what percentage of the residents of Mentia were investigated during the survey. Also, the survey could have focused majorly on questioning about headaches, ignoring the other possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Had the argument provided information regarding the proportion and percentage of people investigated in the survey. Even then, the argument would have to further prove, the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. The assumption that Salicylates is also used to treat headaches, like aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches is left unjustified. Although Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, it doesn't provide any hardcore proof that both are used for the same purpose.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that increasing the amount of salicylates in food content would result in even fewer headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia, in the future. The author states that foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. Furthermore, it can also be used as flavor additives for foods and hence, many companies plan to do so. Despite all of this information stated about the chemical, the argument is still lacking because it doesn't provide the information about how Salicylates is correlated with the decline in the number of headaches.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of the complete absence of statistical data. Also, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions. Then the argument ends with an entirely optimistic conclusion based on wishy-washy observations that are likely to be incorrect.