Recently there have been discussions about ending Grove College s century old tradition of all female education by admitting male students into our programs At a recent faculty meeting a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation arguing th

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with recommendation made by the president of Grove college that maintaining all-female education will enhance the morale among students and will further convince the alumnae to keep endorsing the college financially. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to have a significant amount of additional evidence. The recommendation could end up being much weaker than it seems, or it might actually be quite valid. In order to make that determination, we need to know more then analyze what we learn.

The first piece of evidence that we would nee din order to evaluate president's recommendation is reason behind ignoring the accord of majority in recent faculty meeting. The author claims that majority of faculty members are in support of co-education and hence it would encourage the future enrollment numbers. This fact is strengthening the claim that co-education will be profitable.

Also, the author gives no information about the number of students who responded to the survey. Before coming to a hasty conclusion, the author should also reflect upon certain questions like what type of questions were asked to the students and whether students answered it seriously or frivolously. It is plausible to think that only the students who do not support this idea of co-education took part in the survey, the other girls were not allowed or were not informed about it.

Also, the author has not provided any credible details about the total number of students present in the college now. He is just telling that number of past and present students took part in the survey. However, it is feasible to think that the number of past students were more than number of present students. It this situation is true then the survey becomes inconsequential since, the opinion of past students does not matter in predicting the future of college. They are not the part of the college now so there opinion does not matter now.

Another evidence that the author should ponder about is the detail analysis of the survey. He posits that over half of the alumnae opposed the co-education. He failed to take into account the details of other half alumnae who might be in favor of the co-education. The author has not even provided any empirical evidence about the number of alumnae who took part in the separate survey, actually are providing financial support to the college. It is viable to ruminate that the number of alumnae who supports the college financially comes in the other half of the alumnae group who is supporting co-education. If this situation turns out to be true then the conclusion posited by the president will become unwarranted and dispensable.

Consequently, author's such hasty prediction that to improve morale among the students the college should continue with female education only is very tenuous and weak. It is credible to think that to increase the morale among students, co-education will be more helpful in comparison with female education only. In every field of occupation, male and female workers work cogently without any hesitation. This practice should be thought from the college itself so that it will be easy for the students of Grove college to blend in the outside world judiciously.

Therefore, the author should reflect upon these evidences before coming into a pragmatic conclusion. The president of Grove college should find the answers of above raised questions.