Reduce the accidents on Balmer island

The letter to the editor of the balmer island Gazette states that in order to reduce the accidents on balmer island, the moped rental companies need to reduce the sale off mopeds. The argument seems to be fallacious, and for the argument to be logical, the author need to answer the following 3 questions.

First of all, do the significant number of 100,000 visitors during summer months actually use mopeds for their transportation? perhaps, the majority of tourists rent cars, ride bicycles or use taxi services like uber. it is possible that the most of the moped accidents are due to the local residents who live on the island year round.

Secondly, if mopeds are popular for the summer tourists, are they obtaining them from the rental services? perhaps, many of the tourists during the summer months own mopeds and use them for transportation.

Next, is the 50-moped per day being met right now? perhaps currently the moped rental companies are only renting on average 20 mopeds per day and thus lowering the limit to 25 would have little or no effect on the number of accidents.

Finally, noticing that this policy was successful in Seaville’s town, will it also have desired result on balmer island. perhaps the two island are drastically different in their geographic conditions, the number of tourists visiting each year and traffic. The successful policy in Seaville might not be applicable in balmer island.

To conclude, the author made illogical conclusion and for the argument to be sound and cogent, he needs to answer the questions mentioned above.