To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

In the preceding argument, the author suggested that Buckingham College should build new dormitories due to increasing enrollment and growing apartment rent in town. The author also stated new dormitories are attractive to new students. Although tenable at the face, upon careful scrutiny, it is full of premises and assumptions.

To begin with, the author claimed that student number at Buckingham would double in the next fifty years. Thus, building new dormitories in unavoidable. The assumption here is that the student body will keep growing under the current trend for fifty years. However, larger number of students requires not only more place to live in, but also more professors and teachers to teach them, and more staffs for student services. So, it's unlikely that the school will keep getting more students enrolled at current speed for a long time. As a result, it's beneficial to communicate with college administrations about whether student number will keep rising continuously in the next fifty years to make sure if new dorms are necessary.

Additionally, building upon the evidence that average rent for apartments has been rising in the town, the author stated that more students would choose to live on-campus for that off-campus would become unaffordable for many students. The question may arise here is that the average price in the town might not be able to reflect the housing price around the college, where most students live. It's possible that fast development in downtown made the apartments more expensive, but the price near the college hasn't changed that much, which means it's still affordable for students from Buckingham college. As a result, a more detailed analysis of the apartment market is in needed to evaluate if more students are moving back from off-campus apartments.

Last but not least, the argument believed new dormitories are more attractive to students and can get more excellent students enrolled. No one can deny the fact that good living environment is a key point to consider when selecting schools, but other factors, such as academic reputation, are of more importance. Consequently, building new dorms may cut the college's investment in teaching or research, harming the long-term development of the college. Obviously, all these factors should be considered altogether before a decision can be made.

Due to aforementioned evidence, although rising student number, higher average apartment price in town, and willingness to attract more students are all reasons to have new dormitories, a more thorough and deep investigation should be carried out to reach a final conclusion.