Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

In the preceding arguments, the author presented two distinct conclusions on the research about child-rearing practice on the island of Tertia. Dr. Karp stated that the results got by observations from Dr. Field twenty years ago were invalid, thus suggested interview-centered method should be used. Although the argument may seem tenable at first glance, upon careful scrutiny, it is full of assumptions or premises.

To begin with, Dr. Karp believed that the conclusion that children in Tertia were reared by the whole village is inaccurate because children talked more about their biological parents during interviews. This fact may hint at a closer relationship between children and biological parents than to other adults, but it's not enough to infer the rear practice in the community. It's quite likely that group rearing does exist, but somehow the children still make connections with their biological parents. Obviously, a more thorough study is needed.

Additionally, Dr. Karp and his supportives failed to take cultural changes on Tertia island into consideration. Dr. Field's investigation was carried out some twenty years ago. Although the island of Tertia is a relatively separate community with its own cultures, it's possible that some of their traditions and ways of living have changed in the past two decades. There's no description on how child-rearing practices evolved in the past twenty years. Thus, it's unreasonable to compare results from Dr. Karp with those from Dr. Field.

Last but not least, building upon the implication that Dr. Field's conclusions are wrong, many researchers proposed that interview-centered methods should be used in child-rearing research. It's definitely too early to reach this conclusion before the conflicts in this study are solved. What's more, even if Dr. Karp was right, it's still not wise to exclude other research methods. Different ways of investigation focus on different aspects of a issue. Only by using a combination of various methods can we get a thorough understanding of the issue.

Due to aforementioned evidences, although the author mentioned some factors that support Dr. Karp's opinions, the reasons are not deeply investigated and are full of assumptions. As a result, only with more vigorous and thorough analysis can we know the truth about child-rearing traditions on the island of Tertia and the best way to investigate this topic.