Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The statement adverts about the discussion on raising up children in Tertia and there are inconsistencies in the reports of two anthropologists. One of them advocates that these children were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents while the other advocates the other way. The statement suggest interview-centered method following the second anthropologist, Dr. Karp. However, there are misjudgments, false assumptions and missing evidences in the argument, before conducting interview-centered method, they should provide these missing evidences and reckon on overlooked points.

Firstly, there is a false assumption about the integrity of the children. They should take into accout their ages, hence, they are more liable to give high importance on their biological parents rather than other members of the village. Due to the bonds of inheritance, they tend to feel intimate and sentimental to their parents, this is an evolutional fact. As a result, these mentioned interviews conducted by Dr. Karp may be subjective and implausible compared to the observations conducted by Dr. Field. They should contemplate on the subjectivity of the children, then should check these inconsistencies more attentively, otherwise, they may end up with constructing an invalid research based on inaccurate presumption unfortunately.

Secondly, there is devoid of enough detail and evidence in order to claim such a accurate information. In terms of validity, they should ensure that their research method is unbiased and consistent, hence, since there is inconsistencies in the same field, they should be suspect of biasedness. In the aim of checking, they may increase their sample size or they may change their survey structure on their interviews by adding up confounding tricky questions. The statement does not mention the questions in the interviews or the points they pay attention during their observation. In summary, being sure of a method is merely viable when you are a rigid critic of this subject.

Thirdly, it is not reasonable to accept a result just because it is more sensible or easy to apply. For instance, contemplating on the possibility of rearing by entire village may have seemed arduous to them due the additional requirements of the research since this is a dense claim comparted to latter one. Correspondingly, they are more likely to favor second method apart from validity. However, speculating on other side may hold a iconoclastic result aroused from the obscurity in the system of the village. To put it another way, before undoubtfully trusting second method, they should try to explicate the results from the observations in order to grant that their inconsistencies are accidental and negligible.

All things considered, the statement has obvious fallacies enough to be unconvincing. Without additional evidences and meticulous analysis, it seem wishful thinking rather than a valid research. Before conducting interviews, they should consider these points.