Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument concludes that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people’s health and longevity . Though the argument have some merits, because of the lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, the author’s argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

It is stated that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings live an average of three years longer than people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. However, there is no evidence that people in buildings with elevators use it. For example, there may be only two storey buildings where people may not require elevators. We just do not know. Unless it is fully representavive and reliable, it cannot be used effectively to back the author’s argument.

The author implies that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. However, there can be several other factors to visit a doctor. There is no clear evidence to the presented study. For example, a person suffering with diabetes or cancer visits doctor more often. It has nothing to do with elevators or stairs.

Additionally, the questions asked in questionnaires are not mentioned in the argument. The questions asked to the people in buildings with elevator and the questions asked to the people in buildings without elevator may be different. There is no evidence that the questions asked are similar. The argument did not mention anything related to the age of the patients which is also an important factor for the study to be accurate.

Lastly, the argument did not specify the count of people on which the study is applied. The count may vary from the buildings with elevators and without elevators. We never know. The author missed the details of the studies which are important to support the argument.

Examining all the facts shown in the studies, the author’s argument is not likely to justify the link between health and stairs usage. Detailed and valid information is needed to support the proposed explanation.