Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the following argument, the author proposed that residents must utilize stairs instead of elevators in order to increase their health and longevity. The author has come to this conclusion based on the reports from various doctor’s offices, which indicated that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

First of all, according to the first completed study, the author assumes that the residents who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs use only the elevators for their convenience. The author is implying that without using stairs, it will decrease the residents’ longevity. There is a possibility that the majority of the people actually use the stairs. Just because buildings have both elevators and stairs, it doesn’t mean that people are going to feel the need to use elevators more often than not. Maybe, the residents in buildings with elevators and stairs have more health issues compared to the residents living in buildings with only stairs, which is why they live longer. Such health issues could include obesity, HIV/AIDS, tobacco usage, etc. Many of these health concerns do not correlate with not using stairs, even if there were stairs. In other words, people would still be able to use the stairs with their health issues. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author did not specify the age range of people who live in buildings without elevators. It seems believable that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many trips to the doctors office as opposed to those in buildings without elevators. Perhaps the people living in buildings without elevators are mostly between the ages of 25-30. They are highly capable of using the stairs compared to the elderly people. Further, elderly people visit hospitals for many other reasons instead of “using elevators,” such as health issues, pain/injuries, diseases, pneumonia, etc. If anything, they would most likely fall down if they use the stairs, so it would be safer for them to use an elevator. If the above is true, then the argument is not valid.

Finally, the author is assuming that there is no other form of exercise for people to perform in order to increase their health and longevity. It is possible that residents in buildings with elevators are very healthy because they include other activities in their daily routine instead of just using stairs. People go to the gym, play sports, go on runs, or go bike riding. It seems that the author is narrow-minded with the amount of opportunities people have to be healthy. Also, there’s a high chance that residents in buildings without elevators don’t engage in as much physical activity. Who knows, maybe the stairs are their only form of exercise. When taking these explanations to consideration, the argument would not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author observes the three points above and offers more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation for people to stick to only stairs for their health and longevity.