In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented argument asserts that two researches which were conducted by the same team have found the paradox: that despite the people avers that they like classical literature, the most checked out book in all public libraries in the town was the mystery novel. From author's viewpoint only one possible explanation exists that the first study was fallacious. Although the originator of the argument buttresses his/her conclusion, these evidences should be analyzed carefully in order to give a comprehensive estimation of the soundness of the argument.

First of all, we were not told how big the time span between two studies. Perhaps, the first suvey was conducted a decade ago and the second has been finished recently. In this case, preferences of people who were questioned in the first research may merely change. Moreover, the population of Waymarch may alter as well. Perhaps, people who answered the questions of the first study, moved on and new residents with new background and preferences started to live in the town. In this case, both studies are correct but the sample of the researches are not identitical; thus we have the discrepancy. The argument might have been stronger had the author given us information about time when thsee studies were done. Till we are not given such informatition the writer's assumption that they are coincide in time are not accpeted.

Furthermore, the argument is based on belief that people possess no books and all their reading material they take from local libraries. However, many of hardened readers who like books and classical literature may organize their own private libraries for their own needs. In fact, you may collect your prefered masterpieces in limited editions with remarks of authors of translators. Consequently, we have people who profoundly love the classical literatre and at the same time rent mystery novels from public labriries.

As a result, the author's conclusion that results of the first study is mistaken is unwarrened. They may both display a real situation, but factors which were not taken into account by the writer, probably, affect the results. Additionally to it, the given data does not allow us to prefer one study after the second. In fact a wide range of scenarios is available. For example both studies are not correct or the first one give better representation of reality. We need to learn more about these studies to assert that one research better than the second one.

In conclusion, the given inforamtion by the writer does not allow us to undoubtedly claim that the first research misrepresents the reality, in fact, the argument is not supported properly and therefore, the conclusion may or may not be correct.