Task II

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

You should spend 40 minutes on this topic.

Some people believe that children spend too much time watching television or playing computer games. They feel that this time could be used more productively.

Do you agree? How do you think children should spend their free time?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Today's children spend a huge amount of their free time on watching TV and playing video games. This situation concerns many adults who tend to believe that our progeny ought to spend their spare time on something useful such as reading and socializing. This viewpoint is shared by me as well.

To begin with, reading is a decent way to spend one's free time. For example, reading allows a person to develop logic, memory as well as imagination. Written information gives us an indispensable opportunity to transfer knowledge of our predecessors to a new generation and a child who devotes his or her spare time to reading will be better prepared for school and consequently, the one will have higher marks. For instance, when I was a pupil I liked reading classic books which were written by such famous writers as Shakespeare and Hamenguway. As the result of the activity, my marks at English and literature were the highest in my class.

Secondly, socializing is another extremely useful way to spend time on. We all live in society, we are inseparable from it and learning how to interact with others efficiently might be an enormously beneficial skill. Although someone may say that playing computer games in particular online ones may be perceived as a way to socialize, I cannot agree with it because real personal interaction cannot be substituted. In fact, I tend to believe that the current trend of playing online games may have a negative effect on people. My stance is based on the fact that the majority of social skills is learned via interaction with others. At early age, we learn social norms from our caretakers; at the adolescence, we learn from other teenagers. A person who devotes his or her free time to the games may not get so needed social knowledge and thus the one might not form necessary social skills.

To sum up, wasting spare time on watching television and playing computer games not only useless but even harmful and children ought to be encouraged to spend their free time on useful activities such as reading and socializing.