In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the article concludes that based on the conflict between the two studies, regarding the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens, the first respondents did not inform the valid data in the survey. However, this assumption cannot be accepted as it stands, since it relays on the series of premises for the support of which some vital questions should be answered.

First of all, the writer posits that the most of the respondents mentioned that they prefer the classical literature. However, there is a list of unanswered questions about this surmise. First of all, what ratio of the Waymarsh dwellers participates in this survey? In a case which more than the half of the population responded this research, the study would be accountable as an accurate reference. It is lucidly evident that as the case studies of the survey are varied and broad the outcome of the study is more valid. Second, if the survey covers the majority of the population, there is dangling part in the statistic part of this survey. The numeric part of the study is based on the vague term of most. If the term of most presents only fifty-one percent of the responses, this cannot be prevalent to whole people, because the difference of one percent can be neglected.

Next, the argument claims that based on the other study done by the same group the type of book is frequently checked out is the mystery novel. Therefore, people are inclined to the mysterious book. This declaration is based on the unwarranted too. For instance, what the portion of the books is borrowed is mysterious novel? The term of the frequently does not illustrate the ratio of the books has been borrowed. Maybe, the number of mysterious stories is checked out is identical to the quantity of classical literature. Or perhaps people borrowed the mysterious novels and returned them back as soon as they recognize the books do not appetite their tests. Or maybe the borrowed books are required to the particular assignment assigned by the colleges or universities. Consequently, the students are obliged to check them out. Each scenario depicts a particular outcome far apart the assumed premises.

Finally, the argument leaves the unanswered questions about the scoop of the second study. As it mentioned in the article at the last survey, the public libraries are considered as the resource for the studies. On the other hand, the other potential sources such as the private library and bookstores are underestimated. The question brings to the mind by the first glance is that the public libraries cover what percentage of the whole available book libraries and stores? As there is no concrete statistic about this issue, it is a shaky option. Besides, if it covers the more than two-third of the whole stores and libraries, it could not present the actual desire of the people. Maybe as they like the classical literature, they purchased those books, and now they possess those books in their home. However, they borrow less favored books from the library.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is, therefore, unpersuasive.