In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The given argument has reached a conclusion which asks the city government to devote more money to the recreational activities of the Mason River. There are various unstated facts in this argument which should be analyzed without reaching such a conclusion in a hurry.

To begin with, the term "surveys" is mentioned vaguely, the time, year, number of people participated, age group of people, none of this is mentioned. For all we know, this could be a survey of only 10 people amongst the whole citizens. So accepting the author's assumption of water sports being the favourite recreational activities of all the residents can be refuted.

Later, the author mentions that Mason River is rarely used for water sports and city department doesn't devote enough money for the same. Here, the author assumes that the Mason River is completely suitable for water sports to carry out. He is not taking into consideration the depth of the river, the condition of the water bed, or the presence of dangerous sea animals like crocodiles in the river. If anyone of the mentioned is true, even if the government devotes money for these recreational activities, it's going to be in vain because such conditions will put the lives of the residents in jeopardy which no one wishes to happen.

Moving forward, the author mentions the complaints from residents about the quality of river water and its smell for years. Here the author assumes, that the complains are being made by the citizens to clean the river and start water sports activities. For all we know, this could be a general complaint to maintain a hygienic environment. Relating the cleaning of the river, with an expectation of increasing water sports activities is illogical.

Finally, I would like to state that, the author should go about the facts and actual conditions and feasibility of the river to carry out water sports, take a complete and detailed genuine survey of all the residents and then present his proposal to the government with facts and figures and a plan. Expecting the government to devote money without having detail information will lead to loss of national funds as well as time and efforts of the people who will work for this to carry out.