In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author of the contex provide some information about the situation of the Mason City. He maintain cleaning the Mason River would eliminate the smell of the river and due to interests of inhabitants of the city to water sport, the city government should assigen budget for these activites. The reasons provided by tha author look persuasive at the first glance, but when delve deeper into the provided reason, his reasoning is rife of holes and assumptions that should be clarified by author. I could not accept the statemnet as it is dut to three reason and I will explain now. First of all, the writer maintained that city dewllers are interested to water sports while he did not mention any survey, study or additional information to support his claim. Even he maintain according the study, it si possible that the study would has some holes. For instance, it should be clear that how many people inquery for this question. Is the survey hold according scientific manners. Besides, it is possible that people like to do water sport in their holiday outside the city. In addition, liking water sport does not mean they can do these activities. it is possible that due to their conomic situation they do not afford the expenses of water sports. Another possibility is that they may just like to watch water sport on TV or other media not do themselves. Another reason that provide is that the state has annonced a plan to clean up the river and would be removed. It could not be necessaarily correct. The author did not provide information about the origin of the smell. The smell could be from industries and factories that domp their waste water in the river. Therefore, claen up the river would not remove the smell because the main cause of the odor remained unchanged. Also, it is just an annoncement and it is possible that the government cancel it due to political issue or lack of budget. Lastly, the author assumed that the budget of the city government is unlimited and the city does not have any financial limitaion. Although this assumption may hold true, The writer did not present any additional information to prove that. A possible situation is that the city governmnet could not provide funds for this purpose unless cut down some funds in other projects in construction or health. in this situation, it may not reasonable to provide funds for the aforemnetioned project. In summary, clean up the river and eliminating the smell could be helpful for the city and attract turists. However, the writer could not provide cogent information to presuade the reader that