In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article argues that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities. But some questions need to be answered to enhance the convincing of the statement.

First, the author claims that in surveys Mason City residents rank water sports among their favorite recreational activities. However, we need to know the conductor of this survey. If the survey is investigated by a group of college students who only cope with the assignment of the class, the result of the survey may not be reliable; but if the survey truly finished by a professional team or a member of the government who majors in collecting data, the circumstance of the survey is suitable for the government to refer.

Moreover, the article also states that the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For this statement, we prefer knowing the actual number of the budget of maintaining facilities to abstract comparison such as little of its budget. In addition, giving the whole budget of the city park department is also a helpful way for us to realize whether the city park department really concerns with these recreational facilities.

Last but not least, the article proclaims that after the park department cleans up Mason River, use of the river for water sports increases. The relation between two things should be thought carefully. Indeed, many people tend to play and use the clean river so that the statement seems reasonable at first glance. But maybe there are some other factors that cause many people to use Mason River. For example, if there is a river near Mason River, which used to be a famous river for water sport, facing terrible pollution or some construction such as bridges on the river, those water sports players are forced to find another river to play. Thus, they find that Mason River is a good place to play. It fortunately meets the cleaning up of Mason River so that people will misunderstand that the cleaning up has a relation to the increasing participant. Therefore, it should find more exhaustive investigation to assure that both things have a direct relation.

The conclusion is that the author may give more detail to make the statement more convincing.