The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article argues that teachers in high school should assign homework no more than twice a week. However, there are some questions that need to be answered to make the statement more convincing.

First, the author cites a survey that many high school teachers in Sanlee assign daily homework while those in Marlee only assign homework no more than two or three per week. However, we need to know the conductor of the survey to make us trust it. Because if the conductor is just a group of college students who just only tend to manage the assignment, it may no reliable. They probably only investigate few students in both places and perfunctorily document the data. Therefore, we should get the background of the conductor so that we can sure the survey is established.

However, despite the fact that the survey is made by a professional team, we can not ensure that the data is worth trust. Because teachers in Marlee probably be required to give the wrong data to the team. The leader in Marlee wants to satisfy his or her own esteem, which shows others that the students can have a few homework and good grade are attributed to him or her. The best way to get the data is to collect it from students who prefer to tell the truth. Thuse, knowing the strategy of collecting data is vital to enhance credibility.

Moreover, we also can focus on other fields the homework. The reason which the teacher in Marlee only assigns less homework may depend on the difficulty. These teachers give much harder homework so that they let their students have more days can finish them. Another possible reason is the quantity of the homework. Teachers in Sanlee maybe only assign one page of the training question for math and science, whereas teachers in Marlee may give ten pages or more questions that students feel annoy. Thus, we should know more about the details.

In conclusion, we need to know more about to make the author statement more convincing.