Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Whether nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed has long been discussed. It is a complicate question for government to resolve. In my opinion, nations should not suspend government funding for the arts, but they should strike a balance for it.

With no doubt, the arts could bring innumerable advantages for our society.

Like music, it already becomes a part of our life. We often listen to music when studying , cooking and relaxing time. Therefore, we will buy our favor singer’s album or use Kkbox, which is the music platform in Taiwan, to satisfy our requirement. Even some of them buy their favorite singer’s contest to experience themselves for the fascination of singer. All of these ways can bring profits. And just as MAYDAY, which is a well-known band in Taiwan or even Chinese-speaking region, can set up a company by their own influence, and then they can provide work opportunity.

Moreover, if the government suspend the funding for the arts, it will be a extremely unfair for them. Because artists are same to other profession, everyone assiduously work to make money. They have the same right to get the government’s funding. If the government only suspend the funding for the arts, it may suffer a strong backlash.

Indeed, when most of the citizen are hungry and unemployed, it is true for the government to cut some budget to the arts. These money can transfer to those really imperative field. These cut budget can not only be used on the financial subsidy which will help those people release some pressure on life, but also can be used to stimulate the commerce market consumption. It is really a significant question to strike a balance for these fund.

In my opinion, nations should not suspend government funding for the arts, but they should strike a balance for it.